Paper folding joy

I’m no scientist, but when I was at school I loved physics. I liked the idea of following a formula, step by step, to get the correct answer. In fact, the extent of my revision for my GCSE physics exam was to learn all the formula off by heart the night before and, er, that’s it. I think I like origami for a similar reason. I like folding paper step by step to create something different and often quite beautiful. The very wonderful Pennie gave me some gorgeous origami paper as part of the ‘Time for Tea’ swap, which finally made it out of my office and into my flat about a week ago. The patterns are just wonderful, in fact there’s one pretty dusky pink sheet with the most gorgeous flowers and butterflies on which I refuse to fold with and has given me inspiration for my next tattoo. Anyway, we have here a dove of peace (why yes, I AM an old hippy, how did you realise?) and a crane. Traditionally cranes are good luck in Japan and the origami book I have has a great picture of thousands of them joined in a chain and draped over the memorial to the victims of Hiroshima. Very simple – and very satisfying!

origami-dove2

 

 

origami-crane

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

