what a difference a month makes

At the end of March I was blogging about the Time for Tea swap and was looking forward to 2 days off. Of course events in the North Sea meant things took a very different turn. I’ve just about recovered from all that but it’s been a pretty intense 4 weeks. So now I look towards May and I wonder what it will bring. I’ve got lots of crafty stuff to work on, that’s for sure!

TO DO – MAY

Garden Swap/Finish scarf/Have a go at knitted monkey/Finish felt purse/Practise some more with sewing machine.

I’ve also picked 3 recipes from Rachel Allen’s ‘Bake’ that I want to try – Blondies, Cinnamon Pecan buns and Soda bread – we shall see if this all gets done!

I do have some actually crafty stuff to talk about too – it’s part 2 in the adventures with a Cath Kidston tea towel. This is the  partner to the tartan number which got butchered for a lavender bag….

teatowel

I’m sure you’ll agree, far too nice to waste on drying dishes. I didn’t want to cut this up and I had been reading about a simple pattern for a drawstring bag in Eithne Farry’s ‘Yeah, I made it myself’ (worth a read, especially if you’re interested in dressmaking but with no idea where to begin). My design idea was very straightforward – fold one of the long sides over by about 1inch and sew up to make the drawstring space at the top – here’s a close up….

hem-at-top

Once that was sewn up, I folded the tea towel from top to bottom – and inside out if you see what I mean (God, I am rubbish at descriptions. Some journalist!) and sewed along the hems. I turned the bag the right way round and threaded  some ribbon through the space at the top – et voila!

bag

It’s not the neatest thing ever and I need to work on making the top a bit tidier, but it’s a distinct improvement on the lavender bag farrago! I think I will use it to keep my knitting in – thoughts?

Finally, before I depart I would like to do a couple of shameless plugs. I ordered some fabric fat quarters (purely because they were pretty. oops) from www.fabricrehab.co.uk and would like to ‘big’ them up. Placed the order on Sunday evening – it arrived in Tuesday’s post! I’m also supporting the sites run by two friends – this is the Etsy shop of my partner in journalistic crime Angela, while this is the latest venture from the fragrant and lovely Libby – if you like what you see, please pass their details on!

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to what a difference a month makes

  1. Delightful fabric. Thanks for the link!

  2. Vonnie says:

    Well done you! I’m very impressed with your bag xx

Leave a Reply

