Bread and accomplishments

I’ve already done one of the things I included in my June ‘to-do’ list – get me! I love soda bread, it’s another Northern Ireland thing I think, a core part of the much loved ‘Ulster fry’. It doesn’t involve yeast, which I’ve struggled with in the past, and it’s an absolute doddle! First, preheat your over to 230c.

Ingredients – 

400g plain flour

1 tsp caster sugar

1 tsp salt

1 tsp bicarb of soda ( I think – I don’t have the recipe book with me just now – I will check this and confirm)

12-15 fl oz buttermilk.

Sift your dry ingredients into a bowl, make a well and add around 12 fl oz of buttermilk. With one hand as a ‘claw’ bring the ingredients together. Add a little more buttermilk if needed – but you don’t want the dough to be too sticky. Turn it out onto a floured surface and work together a little more – don’t knead it though. Shape into a round about 4cm thick and place on a floured baking tray. Cut a deep cross into the dough – this lets out the fairies who jinx the bread and don’t make it rise (honest, nothing to do with letting the air out) You should have something which looks a bit like this…….

 

soda bread before

Pop it into the oven and after 15 minutes turn it down to 200c and give it a further 30mins – this is Rachel Allen’s recipe, she recommends turning the loaf upside down for the last 5mins – this isn’t mandatory! Hopefully, the finished product looks a bit like this…..

 

soda bread after

Let it cool on a wire rack – and if you are anything like me, you will enjoy this toasted, with a spot of marmalade – tasty good!

 

I can also update on my attempt at 50 handmade things in 2009 – if memory serves I was at 10 the last time I posted about this, so…..

11. John Lewis ‘Spring Scarf’

12. Rachel Allen’s Blondies

13. ?????? for Garden Swap – secret for now!

14. ?????? for Garden Swap – still secret!

15. – Soda Bread

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in baking, knitting, rachel allen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bread and accomplishments

  1. Peta-Jane says:

    me thinks me must make this, yummy..lots of butter while still hot…watch out thighs , here it comes !!

  2. 5currantbuns says:

    Love love love soda bread…especially with leek and potato soup (combining my welsh and irish heritage…oh with a cup of tea for the english bits)

  3. Kirsty says:

    I love soda bread too. I reminds me of when I was wee.

Leave a Reply

