Anyone for tea and cake?

My crafting mojo is still out wandering lonely as a cloud, so in a bid to get myself going again, I have returned to my first love – baking. I have loved baking since I was little, I enjoy making cakes more than anything else. The fact I have a sweet tooth probably has a lot to do with this.

I fancied making something everyday, rather than a big fancy cake and my attention was caught by Nigella’s Fruit Tea Loaf. It’s remarkably simple and I’ve actually made it twice in the last couple of weeks because I love it so much! First, the ingredients….

250ml Black Tea

375g mixed dried fruit

125g dark brown sugar

250g plain flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon bicarb of soda

Pinch cloves

1 egg

Place the fruit and brown sugar in a bowl, then pour over the tea. Leave to macerate overnight. After that time you should have something like this.

wet fruit

Preheat your oven to 180c and line a 450g loaf tin – I actually used a 900g one as that’s all I had and it was fine. Also you can line them with cling film if you don’t have anything else – it won’t melt I promise!

Sift the flour, baking powder and bicarb into the fruit and mix together – I don’t bother with the cloves, only because I didn’t have any, but this is when it would be added. Finally beat in the egg. Spoon and scrape into your tin – a little something like this…

batter in tin

Back for an hour – or until a cake tester comes out clean – and leave to cool in the tin. Turn out, cut into slices, spread with butter and enjoy with a cup of tea. Has so far come back with 100% approval from my reviewers! As fruit cakes do, this keeps beautifully and the tea helps keep it moist.

finished cake

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in baking, cakes, nigella and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anyone for tea and cake?

  1. Kirsty says:

    That looks really good. I shall make it for the Mo, who likes fruit cakes.

Leave a Reply

