Lavender’s blue dilly dilly, Lavender’s green

Thinking about the title for this has just sent me on a massive trip down memory lane. I seem to remember having a cassette or possibly an LP of nursery rhymes and this was on it……. such a lovely, warm happy feeling……..

Anyway! Back to the matter in hand. I’ve seen various recipes over the years using Lavender but I wasn’t terribly convinced. Then I had lavender ice cream as part of my fancy-schmancy birthday dinner and I loved it. A really delicate flavour, absolutely beautiful and as I was flicking through the Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook I saw a recipe for lavender cupcakes. I had dried lavender in the house (massively over ordered for a craft project with my Brownies) so set to work…..

Your cast for this evening....

Your cast for this evening....

120ml whole milk ( I used semi-skimmed because that’s what I had)

3 tablespoons dried lavender

120g plain flour

140g caster sugar

40g soft unsalted butter

1.5 teaspoons baking powder

1 egg

Measure out the milk and add the lavender. Leave in the fridge, preferably overnight, to infuse.

Preheat the oven to 170c Gas 3 – my oven is crap, so I put it up to 200c.

Put the flour, sugar, baking powder and butter into a freestanding mixer – or use a handheld electric whisk – and beat on a slow speed until you have a sandy consistency. Strain the lavender milk and gradually add until everything is well mixed. Add the egg and beat well.

Scoop the mixture into a 12 hole muffin tin, lined with paper cases. I found I was able to fill each case half full. Into the oven for 20-25 minutes or until the sponge is golden and bounces back. Leave these to cool and get on with the frosting.

25ml whole milk (again I went with semi-skimmed)

1 tablespoon dried lavender

250g icing sugar

80g soft unsalted butter

Purple food colouring (optional)

Make lavender milk as above. Beat together icing sugar and butter – along with food colouring if using – until everything comes together. Strain the infused milk and gradually add and continue to beat until fluffy and light. Ice your buns (snigger) et voila!

Yes, it's pink!

Yes, it's pink!

I only had pink colouring and I was going for the palest pink. I’d forgotten how potent those pastes can be…….

I really like these! They taste lovely, though the lavender flavour is strong. I think I might use less next time – I think it depends on how strong your lavender is. The frosting quantities are generous, but Hummingbird is an American style bakery and they are all about the frosting! I also felt very sleepy and relaxed after consuming two of these last night – I can’t confirm if the two are related but I am conducting further tests!

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in baking, cakes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lavender’s blue dilly dilly, Lavender’s green

  1. lirazelf says:

    ooooh. i was … intrigued when you told me but they look nommy.

Leave a Reply

