Crimes against sewing

Thankfully there isn’t some kind of International High Court of Sewing, where people are tried for their truly heinous attempts at the craft, since I would definitely be hauled in front of them for a slap on the wrist at the very least! I borrowed a sewing machine from one of my colleagues a few months ago, but I haven’t done very much with it and this weekend I decided to have a crack at a Morsbag. If you haven’t heard of them, you can find out more, including a full tutorial,  here. It all looked very straightforward, even for a klutz like me. So I set to work on Saturday, with some fabric I bought at John Lewis  a wee while back….

Pieces all cut out and ready to go

Pieces all cut out and ready to go

The finished article

The finished article

So far, so good? Well, you can’t really see it in that pic, but I made a complete hash of the handles, so one is squint and slightly shorter than the other. Also, the other side of this bag is a very different story…..

Oh Lordy!

Oh Lordy!

Yep, that’s the edge of the bag – with the back noticeably shorter than the front! Awoops. I have not been put off though and I’ll be having another crack at this pattern. It really is very simple and the end product is good – even with my shoddy skills, it’s a strong bag, which survived having 5 books piled into it and then swung around the room 🙂

Some things I have learned… I am a truly cack handed sewer and I need to practise more, I should have cut the fabric exactly according to the pattern instead of allowing myself extra – which I made a mess of cutting, I need to invest in a decent pair of scissors – my kitchen pair don’t cut the mustard – and using a sewing machine on a coffee table is a recipe for backache!

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crimes against sewing

  1. 5currantbuns says:

    Reminds me of a skirt I attempted earlier in the summer – despite in theory cutting to bits the same, when I seamed it the back was longer than the front, so I hid it in a very wide waist band…looking forward to seeing your second version. Nice material.

  2. lirazelf says:

    a good pair of proper scissors are an absolute must – i got a pair for xmas last year and i’d be lost without them…

  3. dori says:

    i will join you in the jail cell – nearly everything i sew is terribly flawed…

Leave a Reply

