Felt badges

 

I’m a little bit nervous about this, as it’s the first time I’ve really crafted something just from an idea of mine, rather than following a pattern, recipe or an idea I’ve seen on another blog. Anyway, I bought some black felt recently to make the Button Bib necklace I made as part of Incy Wincy Stiches button jewellery swap. As usual, I got far more than I needed (never knowingly undersupplied, that’s me!) and I had been think about what I could with it. I kept coming back to the idea of simple circular badges, using the buttons I’d over bought (see what I mean?) and maybe some letters cut out of different coloured felt. That last idea got abandoned pretty quickly as I wasn’t sure I could manage to do something that small and keep it neat. However, I did have some nice embroidery thread, so I thought about sewing the initials instead. I also wanted to use a small amount of toy stuffing in the badges, since the felt I have is pretty thin and I thought it would give me a nicer shape. So, I set to work with a simple circle template – I just drew around a hi-ball glass – and I had two rather stylish young ladies in mind when I made these.

 

 

Photo0486

Brodie badge

 

 

Photo0487

I promise, there is an 'E' for Erica in there somewhere!

Well, let’s acknowledge the elephant in the room – the pictures aren’t great (camera phone) and my hand sewing skills aren’t much better than my machine ones! However for a first attempt and a learning experience I’m pretty pleased! Some lessons learned….I worked completely freehand and I think next time I’ll try and get some tailor’s chalk and draw the letter and flower stem first to give me a better guide, I used a safety pin on the back, sewn on and then held in place with a piece of felt glued on top of it but I think proper brooch backs will be much more secure, purple thread does NOT show up on black felt but I used more stuffing on Erica’s badge and I think it sits much better.

So…..thoughts?

 

 

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Felt badges

  1. megan says:

    i like them – they are very sweet.

  2. Vonnie says:

    What a cracking idea! They look lovely 🙂 I bet the girls will be thrilled with them.

    I got some brooch backs from eBay – fairly cheap and they are fab. Hit me up if you need some because I’m going to order a whole load of them and I can send you a few up x

  3. 5currantbuns says:

    I like the flower idea with the button – that’s neat !

  4. That’s a great idea, and they’re really cute. Congratulations on your 1st design!

  5. Julia says:

    That’s a really good idea. I love the button flowers. Did Brodie and Erica love them too?

    • paddymade says:

      They are very much prototypes – i’m definitely looking to improve them a wee bit. I think the pins need to be much more secure at the back!

  6. juliab says:

    Lovely! it’s always a better feeling when you do something completely from scratch and it works out well! x

  7. Kirsty says:

    They’re really cute. I like them

  8. Eileen says:

    So cute! Elise is wondering where her one is 😉 xx

Leave a Reply

