The northern lights of old Aberdeen….

Well, day 2 of NaBloPoMo and I’m still here! An achievement in itself!

Mondays don’t tend to be crafty days as a rule, unless I’ve got the day off having just worked a weekend. The reason for this is that Mondays are Brownie days!  This often involves me running around in a complete tizz trying to pick up badges from the Guide shop, trying to remember what on earth it was I’d said we’d be doing that night and killing several rainforests as I photocopy forms galore at work (Ssshhh, don’t tell my boss about that one). There is the odd bit of crafting involved actually – this year we’ve made origami shamrocks for St Patrick’s day and toilet roll butterflies – but generally it’s all about crowd – and volume – control! Today I’m pretty tired, as I’m on early shift this week – 4.45am alarm calls all round – and it was a busy one at work, thanks to the deluge of rain over Aberdeen.

As a general rule, my home city gets a bit of a bad press. Jokes about sheep shagging, all the granite and the rather large crack cocaine problem it has all spring to mind. However, I actually really like it here! Admittedly I used to live in Dundee, so my standards dropped pretty low, but still. The recent weather aside, it doesn’t rain half so much as it does on the West Coast, I live right on the edge of the city, in a pretty little village coming down with tranquil views along the River Dee and there are few sites more beautiful than Balmedie Beach on a sharp, clear winter’s day. True, the seagulls are some of the freakiest things you will ever see, every second person does seem to work for the oil industry and when you’re downwind from the fish processing plants in Torry you WILL know all about it, but it’s not a bad old place. I’ve picked enough of the Doric (local dialect) to be able to follow most conversations and you are never, ever far from a bit of piece and quiet and some amazing views. Plus it’s the only place I’ve ever seen dolphins in real life, so that does it for me!

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The northern lights of old Aberdeen….

  1. 5currantbuns says:

    We like Aberdeen ! Ok never been there when it hasn’t been raining but then most of the places I’ve lived have been naturally rather wet (Lancashire, Cardiff, South Pacific) – you have fabulous scenery – we love you Aberdeen…

Leave a Reply

