Baking, achievements and crushes

For the first time in ages (translation – about a week and a half) I’ve been baking. It’s my boss’s birthday and while he’s not one to make a big fuss I feel the occasion deserves a cake. My first thought was Nigella’s Chocolate Guinness cake, which I *love* but it’s a bit of a fidget, so I decided to go with Kirsty’s super easy all in one chocolate cake. You can see the full recipe here. It’s very straightforward and believe me, it is taking every ounce of self control I have not to get tucked into this cheeky little number….

Photo0508

Chocolatey goodness!

He’s also getting the new Kasbian album and Little Miss Sunshine on DVD – how great am I? – and yet no-one else wants to employ me 😦

Onto the achievements. As I’ve mentioned before, I’m a Brown Owl and Guide helper and one of the many things I’ve ended up doing are pack holidays and camps. I did my first residential just over 2 years ago and I took my First Aid and Health qualification. Finally, finally, finally, last night I got this…..

Photo0506

The little green one is the important one!

I’m terribly pleased, not least because I’ve done First Aid-er on at least a dozen holidays and to realise I wasn’t qualified would have been a bit of a blow! I will have to re-sit in a year and I also found out last night that parts of my Pack License qualification (which allows me to run holidays) aren’t complete, so that still needs sorted. I’m feeling pretty upbeat about all things Guiding though – it’s the Centenary year and I’ve got places for some of my kids at special camps in Peebleshire and at Lorne. I had my pack holiday there, but it’s got to be at least 20 years since I was last there, so I’m really curious to see how much it’s changed.

Onto to crushes now. Well, 1 crush and a bit of fangirl action. I should warn you, gentle reader, there’s likely to be a fair bit of this this month. I am terribly for getting crushes, generally on people no-one else fancies! First of all, we have Gary Lightbody, lead singer of Snow Patrol…

Gary+LightbodyYes, I am well aware they are not the most credible of bands and I remember them in the days before their anthemic stadium status, when they were raucous regulars at the QMU during Freshers’ Week, but I have a well documented weakness for musicians and this guys writes songs which make my heart melt….

He’s Bangor born and bred, like me, and I just imagine him singing those gorgeous songs only to me with those dark eyes and scruffy hair……………

ANYWAY! While I’m in the confessional mode, I’ve gone all fangirly over an internetz person. I won’t call her a fellow blogger, because she is well out of my league, but I am proud to admit I worship at the alter of Kitschycoo. Amanda is funny, clever, makes amazing clothes for kids and is one of the best bloggers I have come across. Also, according to my good mate Von aka BlottedCopyBook, she’s a top lady in real life too. I knew things had reached the point of no return when I was in Asda yesterday, browsing through the George section and a little voice in my head said ‘Amanda’s stuff is much nicer than any of this’. Oh deaaaaarrrr.

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in baking, cakes, NaBloPoMo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baking, achievements and crushes

  1. da elf says:

    snow patrol = QM FW regulars… hehehe. “when it’s all over we still have to clear up”… well that struck a chord.

    still but… c’mon girl.

    😉

  2. Kitschy Coo says:

    I can’t believe I just wandered over here and read such a nice thing about myself!! I’m flabbergasted (but honoured) that you have a girly crush on me *blushes*

Leave a Reply

