When in doubt, cook potatoes!

It has been baltic up here over the last few days, going down to minus -1 at night. I don’t know about anyone else, but this kind of weather makes me reach for the carbohydrates! So partly thanks to this – and partly thanks to Pennie, who decided to have a bash at all the recipes in a Delia book a wee while back – tonight I made Corned Beef Hash with Fried Egg. It’s from How to Cook Book 1 – you can also see the recipe here. My efforts are a little different from Delia’s……

 

Photo0524

Nomnomnom

..however this is proper winter food. Stodgy, comfort eating. I made a couple of changes to the recipe, using olive oil because that’s what I had and frying the egg in the same pan, because I don’t see the point in giving myself more washing up than is required! My next dish will be baked eggs, because I feel it’s high time I learnt to make a few more quick and simple savoury dishes.

Incidentally, I am cracking an Irish/Potato joke with the title, in case you were wondering……

 

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When in doubt, cook potatoes!

  1. Eileen says:

    My mum used to make this for us 😀

Leave a Reply

