When life gets in the way

It has been, frankly, a pretty shitty day. I tend not to talk about work here, as it’s a public blog and I’m not that daft! Suffice to say work reached a whole new level of cack today, with just a small glimmer of hope popping up at the end of it. To add insult to injury, I had to go straight from the office to a Girlguiding committee meeting. Usually these things tend towards the dull and worthy, with the odd giggle thrown in. However tonight we were looking at planning for the future and developing guiding beyond the end of Centenary celebrations next year. The woman who led the discussions was inspirational and has really got me thinking in a whole new way, particularly when it comes to putting the girls first. After all, without them we’d be a bit stuck! I mostly love being involved in Girlguiding (there’s the odd Monday when the girls are rambunctious and I’m shattered) and the experiences and skills it has given me are invaluable. However, all this is a roundabout way of saying I didn’t get anything crafty done today. I did however do a bloggy catch up, including the welcome return of the fragrant and well-hot Eileen. She was trawling for ideas of way to pep up her blog and encourage readership. It’s a train of thought I’ve been on too – does anyone really get anything out of reading this? I don’t sell anything, I haven’t really done anything in the way of tutorials, so what’s the point? However, taking on board some of the suggestions, here’s a pretty picture….

Fanny PaddyI know, I can’t understand why I’m still single either!

Twittering posts cropped up as well – I do this and you lovely people can follow me – I’m @emma_pad, you’ll need to send a follow request, as my updates are protected. Be warned, I swear like an absolute trooper which I find to be both big and clever, but if you don’t it may not be for you.

Asking questions is also an important one too, so I leave you with these queries….

1. If you were a Brownie or Guide, what was the stuff you really enjoyed? What games, songs etc were the big favourites?

2. Can anybody recommend some good online bead sellers? With their own websites or perhaps ebay shops?

3. If you were marooned on a desert island, what one craft would you want to do? And what would your book of choice be? (As per Radio 4 rules, you get the Bible and the complete works of Shakespeare)

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When life gets in the way

  1. David says:

    I like to think that another glimmer of hope at the end of your working day was the ghost noises on the talkback. Wooooo Wooooo.

    In answer to question number 3, glitter glue.

    David

  2. Eileen says:

    Aww amazing, I’m so glad you posted a mad pic up too! I mayhave to make it a regular thing, there’s so many bad pictures of me about!

  3. Vonnie says:

    1. Baking! My Mum didn’t bake with me and I really enjoyed it.

    2. http://www.madcowbeads.com/

    3. Knitting I think, and my book of choice would be Iain Banks – The Crow Road 🙂

  4. 5currantbuns says:

    Yes I do get stuff out of it, because you are normal like me and quite frankly I want to hear about things that don’t always go right as well as the ones where you are a crafting queen – I don’t like perfection, its dull.. (that is a compliment by the way even if it doesn’t sound like it, it means you’re interesting !)

    1. Guiding was fun to me whilst I was not a patrol leader. I’m not into “management”…I enjoyed the singing, despite the fact I can’t carry a tune in a bucket.

    2. no idea

    3. Knitting. OK Baking is what my blog is about but its not craft to me…its part of my life, knitting is something I do purely for my satisfaction

    Book – can’t remember what its called but its by Alexander Frater and its about following the monsoon

Leave a Reply

