A new meal and a new swap!

Earlier this week, the fabulous Eileen threw down a challenge, as she set out to learn more recipes and I decided to join her. Tonight was the first installment – Roast Poussin with Sweet Potatoes. This comes courtesy of Nigella Express and the recipe is as follows…

2 poussins

2 tbsp garlic oil

1 sweet potato, weighing approx 500g

1/4 tsp ground cumin

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1-2 bunches of watercress

Salt and pepper

Lime juice

Preheat the oven to 220c. Put the birds into a small roasting tin and pour half the oil over them. Cut the unpeeled sweet potato in 5cm dice and put them into a roasting tin – Nigella suggests using two tins, I used one. If you’re doing that, put a slice of bread underneath the poussin to soak up the juices – this means the sweet potato will get nice and crisp. Either way, pour the rest of the oil over the sweet potatoes and then sprinkle on the spices. Stick in the oven and cook for 45mins.

Nigella suggests spritzing the watercress with the lime juice and seasoning the rest with the salt and pepper. I just tore up some iceberg lettuce. This was super tasty and very, very easy. Obviously if you were looking to feed a family a chicken would be better, but these quantities work fine for two. I now have the carcass sitting in a pot so I can make stock with it tomorrow.

Staying with the lovely Eileen, she’s hosting her first swap and I do love a swap, so I am duly signed up!

I encourage you all to get along to her blog and do the same!

 

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo, nigella and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A new meal and a new swap!

  1. Eileen says:

    I’m feeling the love 😀

    Well done on the new recipe, I’m well impressed! I’ve started a flickr group up for it here: http://www.flickr.com/groups/1240881@N25/

Leave a Reply

