Cake and a card

In a break from tradition for me, it’s a Saturday night and I’m going out!! Admittedly it’s only to a house party and I’m driving because I’m working tomorrow but still! The party is actually for some friends who recently got married and I wanted to bring something with me to mark the occasion. Being me, this means a cake, but I didn’t want anything too heavy, so I decided on Rachel Allen’s Butter Free sponge. The recipe – which is from bake – is as follows….

3 eggs, separated

8oz caster sugar

3floz water

5oz plain flour

1 tsp baking powder

Preheat the over to 180c and grease and line two 8in sandwich tins.

Beat the egg yolks and sugar for two minutes, then add the water and beat for approx 10mins or until the mixture is firm and creamy. Sift in the flour and baking powder and fold in gently with a metal spoon or spatula.

In a separate bowl – which must be spotlessly clean – beat the egg whites until they just hold stiff peaks. Fold it into the cake mixture gently, again using a metal spoon or spatula.

Divide the mixture between the two tins and bake for 20mins or until the sponges are just set in the centre. Remove from their tins and leave to cool on a wire rack. The sponges will be quite puffy and sticky, so handle with care! Sandwich with whatever you fancy – Ms Allen suggest fresh fruit and cream – I went with lemon curd and cream. Dust with icing sugar.

 

Horrible pic, I hate my kitchen, but you get the idea!

I also made up a very simple card, using my ink stamps and a tea stained page – the glue isn’t quite dry in this picture – it’s not a stain!

 

 

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in baking, cakes, NaBloPoMo, rachel allen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cake and a card

  1. 5currantbuns says:

    Yummy yummp cake…but then I have been known to kill for lemon curd…

Leave a Reply

