I am truly a disgrace

It’s been flippin’ ages since I’ve been here, mostly as a result of my mojo taking itself off to parts unknown. On top of that, I have moved house, changed careers with a brand spanking new job and got caught up in all the volcanic ash madness. Suffice to say it’s been a bit busy Chez Paddymade, but fingers crossed everything will slowly settle down 🙂

A few short eons ago, you might remember I vowed to join the beautiful Eileen in learning to cook new recipes. Well today I managed not one, but two! First off there is Nigella’s Butternut Squash and Sweet Potato Soup. I only used Butternut squash for this and I think it definitely needs the sweet potato too – the soup was perfectly pleasant though and an absolute breeze to make! Staying with the simple stuff, for tea tonight I opted for risotto. I love risottos but standing stirring away bores me rigid, so I was really keen to try this recipe from BBC Good Food magazine – Oven Baked Risotto. It’s incredibly straightforward, with the stock going in all in one go and baked in the oven for about 25mins. Do follow the tips below recipes on this site – they are very helpful!

As you’ve no doubt spotted, there is a distinct lack of pictures around here. On top of everything else that’s been going on, my phone, which also doubles as my camera, has died a death so you will just need to use your imagination! Sadly that means no pics (for now) of my Alice in Wonderland swap – however I want to say a huge thank-you to Apryl for organising it all and the King and Queen of Hearts in Canada for their very generous swap!

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I am truly a disgrace

  1. Kirsty says:

    Yeay. Glad to have you back.

Leave a Reply

