Day 14 — A non-fictional book

Sad, but true. Feast is my ultimate comfort read, I can while away much happy time flicking through it. The irony here of course is that I’ve made fewer than a dozen things from it. However, there has been some cooking and baking going on Chez Paddymade. I am a big fan of risotto, but not remotely interested in all that stirring! I was rather pleased with this recipe from the Good Food magazine website, but tonight I’ve found a new winner, courtesy of Delia.

Picture from the Delia Smith Website

The recipe is for Oven Baked Carbonara Risotto and it’s from How to Cook Book One – you can also find it here. It is absolutely delicious! I went with chopped bacon this evening, but I think next time I’ll go for pancetta. It’s so tasty , it almost makes up for the burnt pinky finger I earned myself during production. Almost.

This recipe left me with two egg whites that needed a purpose and I was set on NOT throwing them out. A quick trawl on the Good Food website revealed Forgotten Cookies. It’s a simple meringue recipe, get the oven all heated up, pop them in and then switch off the oven. The meringues will cook slowly overnight, turning into chewy cookies by breakfast tomorrow. Well, that’s the theory anyway, I’ll have to wait until then to be sure!

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in baking, not crafting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 14 — A non-fictional book

  1. Kirsty says:

    I have pancetta in the fridge…think I might give this a go tomorrow.

  2. David says:

    My friend Jill swears by doing risotto in the oven and it seems to taste much the same as with the traditional method.. Me, I like to do all the stirring – makes me feel like I can really cook! (I actually can’t, obviously).

Leave a Reply

