Paddy’s Chocolate Minty Balls

Yes, I said ‘balls’. Stop sniggering at the back, it’s not big or clever.

This is a story of how I rescued an edible gift disaster area. I have made various treats and traybakes for Christmas gifts. Biscotti, Nigella’s peanut butter cups and peppermint creams. The first two worked beautifully and have been well received. The peppermint creams is where I’ve come unstuck. I followed Nigella’s recipe from ‘How to be a Domestic Goddess’. I haven’t got the book handy, otherwise I would give you the directions, but it all seemed straightforward. It was a bit tricky getting everything to come together into a non-sticky dough and some of the mixture may have ended up on the wall, but I got there in the end. I let the little slabs of peppermint cream dry out, decided they were pretty as they were and bagged them up.

What greeted me when I got home and took them out of my case, was this:

They had got squidged back into an amorphous, pepperminty blob. However, the paste still tasted good and I decided to try and salvage what I could. They were not for rolling out back into thin slabs, so I fashioned peppermint balls and dipped them in melted dark chocolate (Green&Blacks 70%). I think they look rather lovely:

After a brief chill to let the chocolate set, they were served up at our Christmas Eve gathering of the neighbours and they went down well. I’m really pleased that I managed to rescue them and I think I’m probably going to stick with this method in future.

Happy Christmas!

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in baking, nigella and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Paddy’s Chocolate Minty Balls

  1. Eileen says:

    My sister made peppermint creams for my wedding favours! Love ’em! And they are lovely with a bit of choc melted on them 🙂

Leave a Reply

