2010:That was the year that was

I spend so much of my time on self-criticism and generally giving myself a hard time that I thought a post summing up how far I’ve come in the last 12 months would be no bad thing!

1. I have a lovely new job. At the end of 2009, I was the Head of News at a commercial radio station, which sounds very shiny but was in reality one long nightmare. I was tired, stressed and pretty unhappy. My boss had left a few weeks earlier and I was miserable without him. I’d been applying for countless other jobs but getting nowhere. I made it to interview just once and it had been a total disaster area. Then, just 48 hrs before the closing date, I was told about the vacancy that would become my job. Something clicked, the planets aligned, call it what you will but everything went like clockwork. Now I have regular working hours, my weekends back to myself, better pay, proper holidays, a promotion structure, decent support from my colleagues and  a job that frustrates and challenges me in equal measure and I love it. I was braced to miss radio desperately but it never happened 🙂

2. I have a lovely new home. This time last year I was seeing in 2010 in a cold and pretty lonely flat at the edge of Aberdeen. It might as well have been at the end of the world for all the interaction I had with the world around me. It was damp, expensive and I was not happy. It’s not the typical way to find a home but Twitter came to the rescue and a friend came forward with a flat. I never saw myself moving to Torry but I absolutely love being there. Fingers crossed I’ll be there for a while to come 🙂

3. I have lost more than 2 stone. Over the last 6 years the weight has slowly piled on. I got into horrendous eating habits with my most recent ex and as it became increasingly clear that the relationship was a disaster area comfort eating was the way to go. At my heaviest I was more than 16 stone. It clearly wasn’t going anywhere and my new job has coincided with regular access to a treadmill. I’ve gone from wheezing my way through the first week of Couch to 5k (run for a minute, walk for 2 etc etc) to managing 3k in 22mins. I’m a pink-faced sweaty mess at the end of it, but I am tremendously proud of what I’ve achieved so far. As a result I am now a little over 13 stone and a million times happier in my skin. I’m not done yet either 🙂

It’s been a year of ups and downs. Friendships have been deepened, while others have been maintained and kept me sane through the worst of it and others still have ended. The best of times and worst of times. Most of the times I am my own worst enemy, no-one gives me as hard a time as I give myself. However re-reading what I’ve just written makes me smile, feel proud and ready for what 2011 will bring. I leave you with two men who will always put a smile on my face 🙂

 

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in musings, not crafting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2010:That was the year that was

  1. 5currantbuns says:

    Hello flower at the end of what has been a bad year here – but it ends on a good note (despite the small one throwing up on the M5 earlier this afternoon), both Husband and I have secure jobs… and that is something to be grateful for

    Glad things going better for you now…look forward to meeting you in person in 2011… we have a friend in your neck of the wood (who had a bad year too) and we have just realised its 6 years since we were last in scotland – or it will be in May.

    Congrats on weight loss – I too am back down to a fighting weight (2 stone gone, now 11 but think I’m shorter than you by several inches)…mine though has been mainly stress, not taken a step in running shoes since August, but I was briefly actually out there doing something ! Much prefer climbing hills…

    P, xx

  2. Kirsty says:

    It’s been a year of ups and downs hasn’t it? But we’re still standing 🙂

Leave a Reply

