Don’t you hate it when life gets in the way of blogging?

I have been a very busy Paddy of late, though not doing anything particularly exciting, so my little corner of the internet has got a bit neglected. So consider this post the blogging equivalent of a quick flick round with a duster ๐Ÿ™‚

One of the new blogs I’ve really got into recently is From the Rooftops. Sarah is a fellow Aberdeen dweller, writes beautifully and takes a rather nice picture. She also comes up with rather nifty posts, one of which I am now shamelessly stealing……book recommendations.

The Age of Innocence – This was one of my A-Level English Lit texts. Despite that I still love it. Gorgeously written, utterly heartbreaking.

Attention all Shipping – Back in the day when I could stay up that late, the Shipping forecast at 0.45am on Radio 4 was my favourite thing to fall asleep to. Charlie Connelly explores what the forecast actually means and travels round all the areas included. A cracking book.

Boy – I was devastated the day Roald Dahl died. As a person he might have been a bit of a sod. As a writer for children there is none better (I’m looking at you JK!)

A Thousand Splendid Suns – Recommended by my Mum. I really wasn’t sure about this, but I loved it in the end.

This Charming Man – Marian Keyes is a brilliant writer. Warm, funny, clever, moving. Much more than just chick lit.

Cold Granite – Crime fiction isn’t generally my thing but I love Stuart MacBride. I only started reading these books because they were set in Aberdeen and now I am hooked.

Chocolat – Mouthwatering ๐Ÿ™‚

Like Water for Chocolate – See above ๐Ÿ™‚

The Book Thief – Heartbreaking. Beautiful.

The Time Traveller’s Wife – See above ๐Ÿ™‚

What would your choices be? Any recommendations for me?

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in books, not crafting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Don’t you hate it when life gets in the way of blogging?

  1. 5currantbuns says:

    Perfume by Patrick Suskind – small, beautifully formed and a bit spooky

    Currently re reading Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons for a book club I’ve joined- elegant and gently funny

    I adored Attention all Shipping – bought it because my Dad used to write the shipping forcast and I’ve been falling asleep to it for years

  2. Kirsty says:

    I second Perfume – it’s a brilliant book and I have a copy somewhere if you want to borrow it.

    I’d recommend Haruki Murakami. His writing is amazing. It’s hard to pick a favourite but I really enjoyed Kafka on the Shore and The Wind Up Bird Chronicles.

  3. I just discovered you’ve been mentioning me over here – yay! I feel famous!

    I just finished Her Fearful Symmetry (Audrey Niffenegger) which was bizarre – I’m still trying to decide what I thought of it! I loved Jane Bussmann’s The Worst Date Ever (which is not a romance, but extremely funny).

Leave a Reply

