An explanation and a dilemma

Each evening in February, I will make a note of three things which made me smile that day. These can be big events or exciting news; they can be silly little jokes or fleeting, seemingly insignificant moments; they can be pretty sights, nice smells, compliments, ideas, anything at all as long as they put a smile on my face.

All credit for this idea goes to Sarah Rooftops. She also designed the banner and a widget that I cannot get to show up on my blog for love nor money. I fail a bit. Anyway, I would love it if you guys got involved – even if you don’t want to blog, you could take a moment to tweet your 3 things. #3thingsfebruary is the hashtag to remember 🙂

Now, onto my dilemma. I’ve been running for about 6 months. Exclusively on the treadmill, I started following the Couch to 5k programme. Now I mostly go for 5k, which I can manage in about 40 mins or push it for a fast 3k in less than about 22mins. I want to get out onto the road soonish, as I know that will be different challenge altogether. My question is this. Do I put my name down for the Race for Life in July? Or go for broke and push myself for the Baker Hughes 10k in May? Will the 10k be too much and leave me disheartened? Or will taking the easier route of a 5k with more time to prepare make it too easy to slack off? I welcome all thoughts and suggestions 🙂

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in not crafting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An explanation and a dilemma

  1. 5currantbuns says:

    Put your name down for both, if you don’t feel ready by May at least you are doing something in July… really it depends whether your mark of success is how fast you can go or how far you can go

  2. Eileen says:

    Ooh I’m going to do the 3 things February as well! Like the idea!
    Also I think you should do the 10k. I reckon you’d manage it!

  3. lirazelf says:

    hmmm…. 5 months for a 10k ain’t that bad, what’s the Baker Hughes course like? If it’s flat-ish you’d be fine, if there’s any horrible hills (or ‘gently undulating’ as I believe it’s called) you might want to reconsider.

    Actually, I’ll ask the resident running expert the morra. x

Leave a Reply

