Foolish Fundraiser

I am indeed a foolish fundraiser, for I have signed up to not one, but two events which are leaving me feeling really rather apprehensive.

On Friday 11th March I will take part in MND Scotland’s Firewalk at Pittodrie. This will involve me walking barefoot across a path of embers, burning at a mean temperature of 1236 degrees Fahrenheit. Actually even just typing that has made me a little sick with fear, though to be fair Dons fans undergo far greater pain there every other Saturday and have to pay for the privilege. So maybe it’s not all bad 😉

Why fundraise for MND Scotland? The main reason is my dearest friend in the whole wide world works for them as fundraiser and as a result I’ve learned a lot more about a disease that before now I knew almost nothing about. Motor Neurone Disease stops the nerve cells that control the body’s movement from sending messages to muscles. MND is often rapid and always fatal. There is no known cure. There are over 400 people living in Scotland with MND, and more than 130 people will be diagnosed this year. It’s all pretty serious stuff and I knew that I wanted to support my friend and the organisation that she works for and believes in. However a few weeks ago I got an even greater incentive to get involved. The story of a woman, almost 5 years younger than me, who has just been diagnosed with MND. She’s isn’t someone I know personally and it isn’t my story to tell, but it was one hell of shock to the system. I – like most of us I imagine – bitch and moan about my life – no boyfriend, never enough money, if only I were a bit thinner, a bit prettier etc etc. However, I have my health and I am bloody lucky. Life is too short, too precious, too fragile to spend complaining about what you don’t have or letting fear get in the way. So, here I am, putting my best foot forward, literally as well as metaphorically.

So far, so life enhancing – right? Wrong. It seems I needed to challenge myself still further, which is why on Sunday 22nd May I will take part in the City of Aberdeen Baker Hughes 10k. I started running last June in a last ditch bid to rid myself of all the weight I accumulated thanks to too much damn comfort eating. Amazingly, it worked. I’ve lost over 2 stone and I can now cover 5k in about 40 minutes. Now I want more and since I usually work best when the pressure is on, I’ve signed up for this race. I’ve guessed at a time of roughly 1hr 20, though God knows if I will actually manage that. I’m really quite scared about this one too. Scared that I won’t make it, scared that I’ll make a fool of myself, scared that I’ve taken on more than I can handle. However, 2011 is all about feeling the fear and doing it anyway as far as I’m concerned and I will also be running this race to raise a bit of cash for MND Scotland. Here’s where you guys come in….if you want to sponsor for either (or both!) these events then that would be amazing. I have a target of £150 to hit for the Firewalk and whatever I can manage on top of that with the 10k would be awesome. I know times are tight and I know there are a million different good causes you can back, so if you do choose mine I will be eternally grateful and may even invite you round for tea and cake.

To sponsor me for the Firewalk, head to www.justgiving.com/Emma-Pettis

To sponsor me for the 10k, head to www.justgiving.com/Emma-Pettis0

Cheers guys 🙂

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Foolish Fundraiser

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Foolish Fundraiser | Made by Paddy -- Topsy.com

  2. My great aunt had motor neurone; this is such a good cause. Remind me after pay day and I’ll sponsor you for the firewalk (I know too many people doing the 10k!).

    I did a firewalk last year for Inspire – the moment before taking that first step is TERRIFYING but you’ll be totally fine; you barely notice the heat and the buzz afterwards is great! 🙂

    • paddymade says:

      Thank you so much Sarah – any help along the way is welcome 🙂

      Cheers for the words of encouragement too, it will all be about mind over matter.

  3. Pingback: Three Things 17th of February | Sarah Rooftops

  4. lirazelf says:

    you are a big shiny star.
    that is all.

    (big as in shiny big, there’s an awful lot less of you these days…)

Leave a Reply

