But what I really want, is a pony*

Well, not exactly. However this is a list of things I want/would like to do/achieve. When I started sketching this out in my head I was convinced there was going to be a lot of material stuff on the list and I was going to come off like a spoilt brat. In reality it’s not that bad. I must have hidden depths. So, without further ado, I want….

  1. to finish the Baker Hughes 10k and not make a total dick of myself.
  2. to keep running after the 10k
  3. at least one new tattoo. In reality it’s closer to three, but one will do for a start.
  4. to start saving some money.
  5. to organise a charity event
  6. to have a ‘proper’ holiday. I’ve never really done this; I normally just go home when I get time off. That is lovely and wonderful but I would like the type of holiday where you get a guidebook and see sights and visit things.
  7. to be more organised. At work, in my personal finances, in Girlguiding. It’s a struggle for a natural born procrastinator such as myself.
  8. to take the Brownies away again – outwith Aberdeen . I took five of them to a camp in N.Ireland last year and it was ace. I definitely want to do something like that again.
  9. to organise my clothes/accessories into a proper capsule wardrobe.
  10. to stop dressing like a scruffy student *quite* so much of the time. I’ll always love the hoodie, but there’s a time and a place.
  11. to learn sign language.
  12. to go on a date, blind or otherwise.
  13. to eat less crap. That doesn’t mean an end to treats, it just means better quality ones 🙂
  14. to learn how to let go. Or, at the very least, give myself an easier time when I can’t.
  15. to get the Bangor print properly framed.
  16. to fit back into my green formal dress again.
  17. to make at least one handmade item every week. This is *not* a license to bake all the time.
  18. to read more.
  19. to remember birthdays, anniversaries etc. I can be quite a rubbish relative/friend when it comes to this sort of thing.
  20. to try and see more than two films a year. For someone addicted to the Kermode and Mayo film podcast, my cinema attendance is shocking.
  21. to try and be a bit more groomed. I’ll never be high maintenance but a reduction in the ‘dragged through a hedge backwards’ factor would be nice.

* When I was a primary school I was a mouthy wee madam (plus ca change…) and as such always got parts in the school plays. One of them involved me playing a complete brat who sang a song about all the things she had but it wasn’t enough because she wanted a pony. ‘Yes, and I want a pony’ is now my reflex response to anyone who’s being demanding.

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to But what I really want, is a pony*

  1. 5currantbuns says:

    Hmm, read one of your list as to learn to sing lasagne…

    I have been trying to be less scruffy this year, but to be honest, 20 years after leaving uni I’m still happier shopping in charity shops than I am proper shops – because clothes never fit and I object to altering things I’ve bought new (mainly cos I’m terrified the alterations will go wrong)

    I have managed new bras and had my colours done – next step eyebrows and a haircut

    Most of your list is achievable – for no 20 you could try “love films” £5.99 a month minimum, first 30 days free (probably).

    9 may be your most difficult, depends on state of your wardrobe. 15 is a phonecall and a bit of spare cash. Took me 10 years to get a print framed !!!

    Good luck

  2. “This is *not* a license to bake” made me laugh.

    My friend Jill always says she wants a pony – there’s a book of short stories, “I Was Told There Would be Cake” with a story in it of what happens if you say that too much… It was my favourite story in the book and I posted it to her when I was done. 🙂

Leave a Reply

