Fabulous Fifteens

I’ve blogged about the Ulster generated joy that is the Fifteen in the past, but it was a long time ago and I wouldn’t have the patience to find the post again, so why should anyone else?

Calling this a recipe makes this sound vastly more complicated than it is…what you need is the following…

15 digestive biscuits

15 marshmallows

15 glace cherries (can you see where the name comes from now?)

1 tin sweetened condensed milk (does anyone other than Nestle make this stuff? It’s the one chink in my boycotting armour)

Some desiccated coconut

Method – bash the digestives down into crumbs. Cut up the marshmallows – use scissors, it’s much easier – and chop up the cherries. Mix everything together in a bowl and it should look like this  –

Now, since glace cherries give me the boke, I use cranberries instead. Don’t worry about counting them, just a couple of handfuls roughly chopped will do the job. Next, take your condensed milk and add a little at a time, stirring it well through the dry mixture. You’re aiming for this sort of consistency –

Yes, I know what it looks like. Next, get a large piece of cling film and cover it with a thin layer of desiccated coconut. Scoop the biscuit paste onto the cling film and form into a sausage shape, getting it well coated with coconut. Roll it up tightly and stash in the fridge for a couple of hours. Once it has set, cut into slices and enjoy with a brew. I haven’t got pics of the finished article because I took them into work today and my colleagues scoffed the lot! However, trust me. Make these now, thank me later 🙂

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in baking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

