TW3 – 01/05/11

This week I have been mostly…

*Basking in just two days in the office. A combination of Royal Weddings, Aberdeen holidays and a trip to Orkney have meant a rather lovely week, work-wise.

*Renewing my acquaintance with Orkney. I went there back in 1999 for Stromness Shopping Week but haven’t managed to haul my ass back up there since. As my office also looks after press for our Orcadian cousins, I managed to blag 24hrs in Kirkwall and I had a ball. The crowd that work up there were as lovely and ‘unique’ as I expected them to be and I got to spend a couple of hours faffing about and doing the tourist thing….

I saw quite a few of these tiny little houses. So lovely.

The Norse influence is everywhere. This is above the entrance to the main Post Office in Kirkwall.

A slice of broken down, rural housing right in the town centre.

St Magnus Cathedral. No pictures could do that place justice. It’s just absolutely breathtaking. I also bought a lot of Orkney fudge, because frankly, you have to.

*Kept on running. I took my running gear up to Orkney and huffed and puffed my way around Kirkwall early on Thursday. Not my best effort ever, but there was a rather large hill on my course which I hadn’t anticipated. Everything looks flat on a map, what can I say? Every time is getting just a little bit better though. No bad thing either, just 3 weeks to go until the Baker Hughes 10k.

*Watched the Royal Wedding. The Windsor’s and the Church of England know how to put on a show, I’ll give them that. I thought the dress was beautiful and amazing. Fingers crossed it works out for them and for everyone else who plighted their troth on Friday.

*Marked the end of the darts season with the good ladies of McNasty’s Darts Tarts. There was chinese food (big thank you to our friends at China Town for not throwing us out. I would have, especially once the singing started), there was karaoke at McNasty’s (all hail our host, Big Tall Bruce) and unfortunately, there was an almighty headache, which caused me to end my share of the night at around 2ish. Judging by the pictures, the girls carried on in fine form. Makes me proud to be a Tart πŸ™‚

*Spent a lot of time on my own, with my thoughts. Much as I love my own company, I’m getting a bit bored of me now, plus as the Everly Brothers put it “Only trouble is, gee whizz, I’m dreaming my life away”

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in musings, not crafting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TW3 – 01/05/11

  1. I haven’t been to Orkney since I was very little – I’d love to go back and even more so now. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

