TW3 – 08/05/11

This week, I have been mostly…

*Enjoying having quite a few evenings to myself. It’s just as well I’ve taken advantage of that, because I’ve got precious few coming up. Things are set to get a bit crazy over the next wee while, all courtesy of Girlguiding. Camps, committees, challenges, cook-outs and even some things that *don’t* begin with ‘C’. I’m just a Brown Owl who can’t say no, apparently.

* Running. T-minus 2 weeks until the Baker Hughes 10k. Have I mentioned you can sponsor me? All cash going to the very marvellous MND Scotland, you can hand over the pennies here. The weekend usually sees my longer run and today was no exception, despite the fact that it was pishing it doon. Reasoning that it could well be the same on race day and I’ll still have to do my thing, it was on with the trainers and out the door. I was a bit damp by the time I got back…..

Not shown: the small puddle which had dripped off me.

* Entering another race. Me and the glorious Dr Thomas are taking on Nessie herself in the Baxters River Ness 10k. Just look at us – already seasoned, honed athletes (erm……)

* Getting to work on my camp blanket, after much procrastinating. For the uninitiated, these are blankets with Guiding badges stitched to them – these can be badges from other areas, special camps, internationals etc etc. Collecting badges is very addictive. A bit like crack, only slightly more socially acceptable ๐Ÿ˜‰ Some people have very fancy blankets, with holes cut in them to wear poncho style on chilly nights. Mine is just a plain navy fleece and as you can see, I’m just as cack-handed when sewing freehand as I am when aided by a machine. They were straight when I pinned them on, honest….

*Eating way too much chocolate. Way too much rubbish in general actually, I’ll need to get back on the straight and narrow this week. However, I did manage to resist the various temptations at the International Market and there were some fine smells wafting along Union Terrace, let me tell you.

*Voting. Some surprising results in this part of the world. I’m assuming the sign proclaiming ‘You are now in the Nationalist North East’ won’t get placed on the A90 until the parly goes back?

* And there was, as ever, work. Still not entirely got to grips with the fact that I’ve got to do a solid 5 days this week. Can someone else important get engaged please?

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in musings, not crafting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TW3 – 08/05/11

  1. Urgh, same here – a five day week? Surely that’s bad for productivity?!

Leave a Reply

