TW3 – 12/06/11

This week, I have been mostly…

* Parading. Girlguiding Aberdeen made our presence felt at Celebrate Aberdeen (a parade organised to highlight the amazing things done by the voluntary sector in the ‘Deen) yesterday. By ‘made our presence felt’ I mean we made more racket than most of the rest of the parade put together. Several chorus’ of ‘Fluffy Sheep’, ‘Thunderation’ and that old favourite ‘Everywhere we go’ (ably led by yours truly) meant we could be heard the length of Union St. A kind gentleman did offer me a megaphone at one point. I didn’t need it šŸ™‚

*Painting. Fresh from one community endeavour, it was straight on to another one today, with the VSA Fun Day in Duthie Park. Girlguiding Aberdeen had a stall and I painted faces pretty much solidly for 5 hours. My neck, shoulders, back and knees are goosed. Since I possess all the artistic talent of a cluster of colour blind hedgehogs in a bag, I probably also owe an apology to some children. Also a bit concerned that we were over confident in stating how easy it was to get the face paint off….

*Baking bread. Proper bread. From scratch. With yeast, rising, knocking back and proving – the whole 9 yards. It worked as well! I love baking and need very little provocation to start wielding a cake tin or two but bread has always given me the fear a little bit. However, it seems there was no need for this. I’ve decided that I will now only purchase supermarket bread in times of dire emergency.

*Geeking out over the new Girlguiding resource Together We Can. It focuses on the millennium development goals and it looks ace! Can’t wait to put it into action.

*Darting. The McNastys Darts Tarts returned for their first training session this week. I played like a pudding. No change there really.

*Giving blood. This was my first donation since January. Oops. I love watching the donation being taken, blood is such an amazing deep and dark shade of red when it’s coming directly from the vein.

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in musings, not crafting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TW3 – 12/06/11

  1. I thought I spotted you at the parade (seemed a good bet as you/she was surrounded by Guides!). Is that creepy?!

    I’m not allowed to give blood for three years but they still keep sending me letters guilt-tripping about my absence. šŸ˜¦

Leave a Reply

