Gift giving

I don’t know about you, but at least 50% of my conversations at the minute eventually work their way around to Christmas shopping. Don’t get me wrong, I’m as big a material girl as the next woman. Anyone who’s seen me go all wobbly in a Cath Kidston shop could tell you that. However, this year, I’m increasingly thinking about doing something for others. I don’t want this to sound preachy or to set myself up as the embodiment of selflessness (I want a pony in my stocking come Christmas morning, believe you me) but I’m inviting each to you to chuck some coins in the pot of an organisation that means something to you. Or how about encouraging an Oxfam Unwrapped Secret Santa at work? Or you could take it a step further and do what I did today – book an appointment to give blood. Whether you’ve never given blood or just haven’t given in a while, you’ll be welcomed with open arms. This time of year traditionally sees a drop in donations – we’re busy doing other things or bad weather gets in the way – but the UK’s hospitals don’t need blood any less. Where else do you get to save lives and get a cuppa and biscuit when you’re done?

Scotland? Clicky 

England& Wales ? Looky here

Norn Iron? Bout ye!    

If the idea of getting a needle in the arm doesn’t exactly scream Christmas, what about getting your name on the donor register? I’ve carried a donor card for almost 20 years but it’s important to make sure your name is on the register too – and let your family know your wishes. I don’t know about anyone else, but when I shuffle off this mortal coil, they’re welcome to use anything they want – though I imagine most of it will be knackered 🙂

What other ideas do you have for a charitable/feel good Christmas?

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gift giving

  1. lirazelf says:

    I was going to use this space as a shameless plug for my own JustGiving page but I’m not going to, cos that’s kinda crass…

    I just love making gifts for people. I’m not the best at it always, but it’s such good fun. me & b have really gotten into the whole handmade xmas thing over the past few years, started with being skint and we kept it cos it’s just nice. also, he’s incredibly talented, which makes it easier!

    I do wish that I was more talented in the handmade dept. your stuff always puts me to shame….

  2. The first time I gave blood was in the middle of a blizzard! I’m not currently allowed to donate, but I still harp on at my friends to do so – a few people I care about wouldn’t be here if strangers hadn’t donated the blood they needed during chemotherapy; it’s such an easy and important way to help.

    (also, I have this EXACT SAME post scheduled for a few weeks’ time! Great minds…)

Leave a Reply

