2011: On reflection

I always knew December was going to be a busy month. I had no idea quite how busy though! I’ve barely had time to draw breath, much less write a blog post. There was a guide camp, meetings, a free haircut, the norovirus, a trip to Glasgow, a work Christmas night out, a house party, darts, the Strictly final, Christmas shopping, getting home for Christmas, Christmas itself, the need to eat as much food as I could lay my hands on, getting a cold, getting back to Aberdeen and getting back to work. It’s all been a bit much really. Anyway, with all the madness (mostly) behind me, the time has come to reflect on the last 12 months….

Work

My job remains a shiny and wonderful thing 🙂 It’s not always easy, but there is a reason why it’s called ‘work’ and not ‘sitting around eating cake’. My bosses like me, I like them and I have a level of job security I could never have imagined.

Guiding

This continues to suck every bit of spare time I seem to have. Cutting back on this is probably my main challenge for 2012. I enjoy it; I do need to get some balance back though. 2012 hasn’t even started and yet I know I potentially have 5 residentials to look forward to. I’ve already put my foot down on one, I need to maintain that courage and say ‘no’ a little more often.

Love

Well who woulda thought it? The cliché is true, it is always when you least expect it that something wonderful comes along. Hurrah for Geoff is what I say!

Running

I took part in two 10k races this year. It still seems a slightly odd thing to be able to say actually. I haven’t been running in weeks, thanks to aforementioned busy-ness, dark nights and a complete aversion to running on treadmills now, but I want to get right back into it. Entries open for the 2012 Baker Hughes 10k on 16th January 🙂

Aberdeen

Over the coming weeks my time spent in the Granite city will exceed the time I’ve lived anywhere else in Scotland. Yes it’s cold, wet and grey. Yes the seagulls will eat your face as soon as look at you and yes the smell of fish can get a bit much at times, but despite all that it’s home and I’m happy here.

Life

All in all, life is pretty good. I’m looking forward to the things that 2012 will bring – a trip to Switzerland , more races and a whole host of things that I can’t even imagine right now. So how was 2011 for you?

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2011: On reflection

  1. All the best for 2012! I hope it’s good to you!

  2. 5currantbuns says:

    Look forward to reading about your 2012 right here…have a good one P xx

Leave a Reply

