Why don’t you…….

…….do something on your own?

Easing myself back into the Why Don’t Yous? with a straightforward one this week. As a general rule I am pretty solitary person. I like my own company. Even when I’m spending time with those absolutely dearest to me, I do eventually hit my limit and need some quiet time. I like being on my own. I sing to myself, talk to myself, I read, I sit and think. I’ve gone to the cinema on my own, gigs on my own. There have been times when I’ve taken it too far and spent too much time on my own, but I think I’ve improved the balance since then.

This is all a roundabout way of saying I could have picked a number of different things for this week, but the one I have selected was Friday lunch. I sat in the kitchen at work, on my own, with the door closed and enjoyed 25 minutes of peace and quiet, along with a bowl of thai green curry/lentil soup and the Guardian magazine from last Saturday. It was lovely.

I would strongly encourage everyone to take a peek at Sarah Rooftop’s Why Don’t You? list. I have them jotted down in my diary all the way into August and I am really looking forward to each one. Actually, just read her blog full stop. It’s ace!

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in musings, not crafting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why don’t you…….

Leave a Reply

