The 2013 List

23. Write a big, long list of things that make you happy
  1. Himself. (If you don’t like soppy stuff, I suggest you skip down the list)

I had been single for a long time when I met Himself. I had gone down several blind alleys in my pursuit of love, forgetting that these things have a habit of popping up when you very least expect them. For whatever reason, it fits. I feel comfortable with him. That might sound dull, but it’s really not. Occasionally I will look over at him and just be swept away by how much he means to me. Also, he finds me funny. A lot is said about how we all want someone who can make us laugh, but what I hadn’t realised is how lovely it is to be the person provoking that laughter. I really like the fact that I can make him laugh, that he finds me funny. The novelty of that hasn’t worn off yet.

  1. Boy and Girl.

As previously discussed here.

  1. Getting into a freshly made bed, preferably with sheets that have been line dried.

Self explanatory, that one.

  1. The perfect cup of tea

I am well practised in the art of tea-making and I know what I like. However, there are those occasions when the planets align, the water is the right temperature, the tea brewed for the right time, the right amount of milk (and sometimes sugar) is added and you have before you a cracking cup of tea.

  1. Cookery programmes

Not all of them – I cannot abide Heston, for example – but Masterchef: The Professionals, Nigella, Delia, Nigel Slater and Rick Stein all make me a very happy girl.

  1. Recipe books

I sit and read these like other people read normal books. It’s the ultimate in comfort reading as I plan a whole range of feasts. I never cook any of them right enough….

  1. Planning/organising

I love the anticipation of events, at least as much as the event itself. Checking, researching, writing plans. Love it!

8. Waking up in the middle of the night, looking at the clock and realising there’s still hours to go before I have to get up.

Another pretty straightforward one.

What makes you happy? And how are you?

About paddymade

Thirtysomething PR type, Northern Ireland born and bred, now residing in Aberdeen. I drink tea (a lot), swear (loudly) and craft (badly) This is my little corner of the internet, pull up a chair and get comfortable :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The 2013 List

  1. 5currantbuns says:

    all of the above (with obvious substitutons !) … plus

    7am-8am sunday morning…when the house is MINE

    The shipping forecast,,,

    The first pancake, you know the one that goes wrong and belongs to the cook

  2. Kirsty says:

    To do lists.
    Rediscovering tunes I listened to as a teenager….oh the memories.
    Trashy urban romance books.
    Cheese.

  3. So with you on how nice it is to make someone laugh – in fact, I’ve already started drafting my big long list and it’s right up the top. 🙂

Leave a Reply

